Road to the Tri: Two Days!

Tri training is nearly over and I can’t even believe it.  Then again, yes I can.  It feels like I’ve been training for this thing forever, and it in reality was the entire summer.  I will have trained for 11 weeks officially for this event, just about as long as I’ve ever trained for any of the halfs I’ve done (you know, all two of them).

Week 9 was done in Spain and while I think I did a pretty darn good job staying active there, it still was extremely difficult to stay on top of training while on vacation.  I swam four times in a super cooled pool (because it is so hot there in the summer, they cool their pools the way we heat ours to keep them warmer when it is cool outside.  I rode a bike once for half an hour before I popped the tire; we never were able to get it fixed.  I walked nearly every day but only ran once (between the weird later schedule we kept there and the heat it was hard).   What threw me off more than the lack of training however was the food and drink that got way out of control.

Week 10 has been alright but I’ve been battling jet lag and just generally feeling over the whole training cycle.  We did another mini triathlon training session last Saturday with my girlfriends, including a half an hour in a pool, 8.7 miles on the bike and a 2 mile run/walk.  It was longer than our previous tri run through, and considering I’d just gotten home from Spain, I thought we did well.  I’ve done a long walk, two very slow runs and this morning, a 8.25 mile bike ride.

I feel at this point that I’m as ready as I can be.  I’ve done a lot of “bricking” in the last three weeks and so I think I know how my body will respond on Sunday when the time comes.  I’m wondering what the swim will be like with everyone all around me, but I know I’ll get through it.  I know I start out tired on the bike but I loosen up around Mile 4 so I will keep telling myself that.  I know the first mile after getting off of the bike is going to suck, but I will slog through.

A few weeks ago I had time goals but at this point I have set all of that aside.  I just want to enjoy the experience and get through it without hating it.  It helps that I have a big group of women doing this with me; I am not sure I would have ever tried this on my own.

At this time on Sunday I should be nearly done with my race.  Wish me luck!

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

