The Road to the Tri: Week 2

I’m done with Week 2 in my training and I’m actually feeling pretty good about it.  It’s been very interesting trying new types of activities….I never really thought much about biking or swimming for exercise, and I’m really liking them both (especially since I got my bike fixed!).  Here’s what this week looked like:

Tue:  Rest Day (got my bike fixed)
Wed:  4.8 mi run (12:50 pace)Thu:  30 min of swim (.57 mile) and 45 min HIIT class
Fri:  2.5 mi walk, 30 min TRX and 1 hour kickboxing class
Sat:  60 min yoga
Sun:  Rest Day (rain)
Mon:  8.4 mile bike (8.25 mph) and 2.7 mi run (12:22 pace)

Today was my first “brick” workout day.  Although really last Thursday when I swam and then did HIIT probably would qualify as well.  I also did a lot last Friday, three different workouts so over two hours of exercise in varying degrees.

But today was officially the first brick, first a bike ride and then a run.  I had about an hour and a half in between though, getting the kids up and fed and ready for camp.  So it wasn’t one right after the other, but it was close.

Today’s bike ride felt easier than the others I’ve done so far.  Today was my fourth and since my bike was fixed, a lot easier.  Everything works like it is supposed to so I could just concentrate on the ride.  I went with my girlfriend to the same spot I did my first ride two weeks ago.  What a difference!  We added on another mile and a half and could have gone for more if we both hadn’t had to get home and get our kids up and moving.

I felt so good after that I decided to try a run.  My legs were definitely feeling the ride, but I told myself I’d just try for 2.5 miles and if I had to walk some I could.  It was a little rough at first but I finally got in the groove and really hardly walked at all.  I felt very accomplished afterwards!  Like I might actually really do this thing.  We’ll see after I add the swim into the mix, but I have two full months left to train, so I think I can get there.

I’m excited!

Tags: , ,

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

