What I Ate Wednesday

I’ve done exactly one What I Ate Wednesday (which was what I morphed my Weigh In Wednesday into) in the last month.  Of course I have been crazy busy, but that’s not the only reason.  The real reason is I don’t want to talk about What I Ate during weeks when I have been eating a lot of crap.

Which is pretty much what the last few weeks have been like since my last post on the topic (the one where I confessed to getting back on the sugar wagon).   I continued to allow sugar and bread and dairy to creep back into my diet (but not artificial sweeteners, which means I haven’t had soda either) and now they feel like staples again.  I had cookies, I had bread (lots of it) and cheese….oh, the cheese I ate on Friday evening at a dinner party.  Divine.  And let’s not even talk about the wine.  There’s been plenty of that too.

So it wasn’t a surprise to me at all when I stepped on the scale this morning and found that I’m not only up two pounds from two weeks ago, but I’m at my highest weight since March.  😦  March, when I was really rocking my cleaner eating habits.  I’m actually up about five pounds off my low point during this spring.

Which is especially frustrating because I’ve been workout out hard and well and actually seeing improvements in stamina and strength.  I feel healthy and strong, but as long as I am not careful with my food, the scale is going to stay higher than I want it to.  So I have got to get back to eating cleaner, healthy, enjoyable foods that keep me away from the crap.

This is one of the things I discovered this week.  Baby Bok Choy.

I had bought a package of them at Trader Joe’s and they’ve been sitting in the fridge waiting for me to figure out what to do with them.  I had no real salad stuff in the house that day, so I took the bok choys, along with some other veggies, and roasted them.

051127020-01-baby-bok-choy-warm-miso-ginger-dressing-recipe_xlg

This is not my photo, but this is pretty much what they looked like when I roasted them.

They were delicious and couldn’t have been simpler!  Here’s what I did:

Slice the bok choys in half, and rinse.

Toss in olive oil, salt and pepper

Roast on a cookie sheet in a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes, turning once. 

That’s it!  Easy peasy and they were delicious.  I paired them with a fish filet that I cooked at the same time, and it made for a super easy, healthy, satisfying lunch.

This is the kind of experimentation I need to keep doing.  The more I find healthy foods that are delicious and satisfying, the less junk I want.  Plus I always feel better after eating something good for me.  Especially with the triathlon training I’m into now, I have to keep reminding myself that food is fuel.  I’m not going to perform at my best if I fill my tank with the wrong kind of fuel.

 

Tags:

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

