Motivation Monday

It was a week of getting back in the groove after a week of kids’ vacation and travel.  I definitely felt much more back in the routine, although it was not a perfect week by a long shot. I had an unplanned rest day on Friday when a last minute client meeting came up.  I had planned to do yoga on Saturday, but my husband was out of town and I didn’t want my son to wake up to an empty house that morning.

This week looked like this:

Tues:  Rest Day
Wed:  2 miles @ 11:53 pace plus 30 min HIIT class
Thur:  2.5 miles @ 11:43 pace plus 30 min HIIT class
Fri:  Rest Day (unplanned; client meeting)
Sat:  Rest Day
Sun:  10K Minuteman Race @ 11:50 pace
Mon:  3.7 mile walk

I had planned on a short run and a strength class today for exercise, but I tweaked my left knee yesterday and I can still feel it today.  I wrapped it in an ACE bandage but I still wasn’t sure putting so much stress on it today was a great idea.  I decided a walk was the best way to not blow the whole day but still take care of myself.  I have another race in two weeks, another 10K, and I don’t want to ruin my chances for making that a good day.

Tomorrow I plan on a short two miles to see how the leg is, and I’ve signed up for a TRX class at my local gym.  TRX is NOT my favorite thing by a long shot.  Every time our instructor brings out the straps, I always need two or three explanations before I finally get it right.  Plus, I find it super hard.  I know that means it is good for me, which is why I have signed up.  These classes are enormously popular at my gym, so there must be a reason, right?

Later this week family is coming into town for my daughter’s communion.  When we have family visits it is always hard to keep up with the workouts.  I’m trying to figure out how to parcel out my runs to still get in some exercise while spending precious time with the family.  Hopefully I can find the balance for both.

 

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

