Motivation Monday: The I Have None Version

It’s rainy here today in SW CT and I’m definitely in a funk.  My kids were on their Spring Break last week and we enjoyed a lovely few days away from home with my dad.  I returned home to reality and was definitely not ready for it!  I’m trying to move beyond it but I feel very little motivation to do so.  Today has been a struggle just to get through everything that has needed to get done.  My impulse is to do absolutely nothing.

The break definitely affected my workouts in the last seven days.  It was just too hard with the two kids, no husband and my dad in tow to muster up the energy to get up early and hit the hotel gym.  We did do lots of walking but I know it just wasn’t the same.  Oh well.  It’s time to buckle up and move on.

On the plus side, I did have a wonderful nearly 6 mile run yesterday morning.  It wasn’t fast, it was hilly, but the weather was perfect and it felt so good to just not worry about pace and log the miles.  So I will hold onto that memory as I try to move out of Funkytown.  It’s not my favorite place to be.

Last week’s workouts:

Tues:  4 hours of slow walking around the Newseum in Washington DC (highly recommend)
Wed:  Rest Day (travel day)
Thurs:  4 miles @ 12:36 pace
Fri:  45 min bootcamp plus 30 min strength class
Sat:  60 Min yoga and 3.25 miles @ 12:23 pace
Sun:  5.7 miles @ 12:46 pace
Mon:  2.5 miles @ 13:03 pace (treadmill)

I have a 10K this weekend, which will be my longest run since the NYC Half.  I don’t think I will beat last year’s time, but we’ll see.

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

