What I Ate Wednesday (A Day Late)

I am morphing my “Clean Eating Update” posts into a post each week, on Wednesday that highlights something new I tried that week in my clean eating journey.

This week was a transition week out of my “Lent” promises to promising myself that these lifestyle choices would stay in place.  I did have a very small piece of cake at Easter, and some dip that I made that had Greek yogurt in it, and yesterday I had a headache and had a few handfuls of peanut m & ms, but for the most part I have kept my no sugar, no dairy, no bread, less booze rules in tact.

Surprisingly (or maybe not, I don’t know) even with a big meal on Easter with some cheats, I was still down 1.6 lbs for the week, which made me very happy.

I wanted to make a less guilty treat for myself to reward myself for making it through the entire Lent without one slip up in the sugar department.  I have been reading a lot about “naturally sweetened” foods, and of course I am trying to cut back on the processed stuff as well.  I found a recipe online for maple syrup sweetened chocolate syrup, and decided to try it.

The result was amazing!  The sauce was delicious!  Maybe it is my sugar deprived tastebuds but I only used half of the maple syrup the recipe suggested and the sauce had a wonderful, dark chocolatey taste, with an edge of bitterness, that coupled beautifully with the strawberries I had paired with it.  I have also used it with almond milk in my coffee for a nice mocha, and over my oatmeal this morning for a sweet treat.  I’m in love!  I will make this again and again.

IMG_5692-1Less Sweet Maple Syrup Sweetened Chocolate Sauce
(adapted from Deliciously Organic)

1/2 cup maple syrup
1.5 cups water
1 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 tbsp. vanilla extract

Pour maple syrup and 1 1/2 cups water in a medium sauce pan. Warm over medium heat until just simmering. Whisk in cocoa powder (it will take a minute or two to get all of the cocoa completely incorporated). Remove from heat and whisk in vanilla.

This works well as a syrup at room temperature or as a sauce or dip after it has been refrigerated.

 

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

