Race Calendar

After talking yesterday about wanting to set up a new training plan, but not having a goal race in mind, I decided to sit down and attempt to map out this year’s running events.  I try to average one race a month, so with it now being the end of March, it’s probably time to think more comprehensively about the year in running for me.

I didn’t run races in January or February.  The weather here was just too terrible.

March:

3/15 NYC Half Marathon
3/28 Sandy Hook 5K

April:

April is tough.  I plan on traveling while my kids are on break so that takes out one weekend, and Easter takes out a second.  I’m looking at either:

4/25:  Maren Sanchez Memorial 5K
or
4/26 Minuteman 10K

May:

5/9:  Mother’s Day 10K
5/24:  Bridgeport Hospital Home Run 5K6

June:
6/27:  Stratton Faxon 5K
or
6/28:  Stratton Faxon Half Marathon

July:

7/24:  Trumbull Sunset Run 5K

August:

8/30:  Women’s Triathlon (!!)

September:

9/21:  Fall Distance Festival either the 10K or 20K

October:

10/4:  4 Mile Trail Race

November:

11/7:  Vicki Soto 5K
11/26:  Thanksgiving 5 Miler

December:

12/12:  Christmas Village 5K

Yes, I did throw in another half as a possibility.  I ran that one last year, so I know I can do it.  I’m not sure I’m up for it, so it’s a possible.  I do like the idea of the 20K in September, that’s a long range goal and I know it’s doable (weather will be better then too).

I also have a Triathlon in the mix for August.  A group of women and I are going to train for this one together.  I am not sure about it at all, but I’ve committed so I will get there.  I have no idea how that will go at all.

There it is, my goal races for the year.  Guess it’s time to start signing up for some of these!

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

