Half Marathon Training: Week 10

Another week under Mother Nature’s frozen grip here in SW CT.  It has been such a struggle to get the runs in this week, but I have done each run, all the way through, no splits (well except the one on Tuesday to finish out last Monday, but that’s technically last week, right?).   This is probably the first week I can say that, and it’s about time.  I do hate the listing of treadmill runs here. I am consistently slower on the treadmill than I am outside, so my paces are not great this week.  Here’s what the week looked like:

Tues:  2.5 miles @ 12:51 pace (treadmill)
Wed:  3 mile jog @ 13:37 pace (treadmill)
Thu:  6.57 miles @ 12:57 pace (outdoors in 15 degrees….aka the water bottle run)
Fri:  1 hr 15 minutes of bootcamp
Sat:  1 hour of yoga
Sun:  shoveling snow (sigh……)
Mon:  11 miles @ 14:18 pace (treadmill)

Yes, you read that right.  I knocked out 11 miles on the treadmill today.

I was all geared up to run outside today.  Unfortunately the snow we had Sunday AM had lots of melt on Sunday PM and refroze overnight.  When I drove my son to school I saw ice everywhere on the sides of the road, and I just knew it wasn’t a good idea.  Plus the temps have plummeted again to a brisk 15 degrees, but today with a nasty wind.

A friend of mine at church yesterday cautioned me not to try running on the ice.  I groaned and asked how does one go so long on a treadmill?  She replied she’d done a marathon on a treadmill once.   She said, “Just put on some movies and go for it.”

So that’s what I did.

I set up my laptop near the treadmill and started.  The first movie I chose wasn’t a good running movie.  I needed something that I knew well enough that it was OK to miss some dialog, but something that kept my interest.  Kind of like one of those movies you can never pass up when they’re on USA or TBS?  Once I realized that, I switched to Sweet Home Alabama and I was in like flynn.

I’m not going to say I enjoyed this run.  I pretty much hated it.  Especially when the movie was over before the run was (second choice:  Music and Lyrics).  But I took it slow and easy and I got through the miles.  Just like it would have been outside, there was a lot of walking in those last three miles, but whatever.  I got the miles done.  I didn’t split the run.  I needed to get this run done.  I haven’t run a long run straight since 8.5 over a month ago, due to our weather.  I had to do this.  And I did.

My feet were plenty sore after.  I did put on my new compression socks and that seems to have really helped the leg soreness.  After a few hours, I felt fine again.  So yay me.

The weather looks cold but clear for this week (finally!) so hoping to get a week of runs in without too much juggling or rescheduling.  We’ll see how it goes.  This week includes what should be my last long run, and then I start to taper.  I can’t even believe I’m nearly there.  Seems impossible.  But here we are.

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

