Wednesday Weigh In: Big News Edition

Alright so this week’s weigh in is god awful, not going to lie.  I’m up 2.6 over last week.  I am sure part of it is that time of the month, and part of it is restaurant meals over the last few days, but salt isn’t going to account for all of it.  Part of it is the cheese I put in my face all weekend, the booze I drank at our party on Friday, the sandwich I chose to order instead of the salad (which came with fries, that I ate).  It’s total crap and super lousy timing to be up this far over the course of the year heading into the holidays.

But I got a great piece of news yesterday that is putting my crappy weigh in on the back burner.

Screen shot 2014-12-09 at 6.50.57 PM

I got accepted into the NYC Half Marathon!

This was the race I really wanted to be my first half marathon.  I’ve been dreaming about it for two years now, ever since I made a half marathon a goal.  Last year, when the lottery opened, I decided not to put in for it because it was right around the time when my grandchild was due to be born (turns out I could have ran it because she was born the weekend before, but I digress). Instead I chose a local half marathon, which I completed in June.  I was thrilled to complete it, but wasn’t eager to go for another one any time soon.  I was kind of left with the feeling that the distance wasn’t enjoyable for me; I could do it, but there would have to be another motivation to do another half.  NYC Half, sure.  Maybe a destination one.  But another local half?  Not likely unless a big group of friends wanted to together.  And never another June one, that’s for sure.

When the lottery opened up this year, I went ahead and entered.  Two women I know here both put in for it last year; one got in, one didn’t.  I didn’t really think I would get in.  But I had to see if I could get a spot.

I waited all day yesterday to see my status.  Around 2pm I noticed the race popped up in my New York Road Runners profile page, but I still didn’t have any confirmation.  Around 7pm I got the email; I was in.

So there it is; another half marathon, three months away.  I trained for nearly four months for my last one, so it’s already time to start a program.  I need to clean up my eating and drinking.  This goal, this race, has been my dream.  It’s time to get serious about my health so I can make this dream be the best reality it can be.

I can’t even begin to say how excited I am!  And grateful.  Just when I was losing my motivation to move forward, now I have it.

Current Week: +2.6 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose: 18.2 lbs
Age: 44
BMI: 28.9

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

