Wednesday Weigh In

For the first time in a long time I’m going to try and actually post a one week weigh in rather than a two week weigh in.

This was a good week.  I am 1.2 pounds less than I was this time last week.  And it is definitely because I am making a concerted effort in one area:  portion size.

I had been beating myself up a lot over eating the wrong foods, but the reality is I don’t actually eat a lot of unhealthy stuff.  What I do is I eat a lot of whatever it is I am eating.  I tell myself that I am able to eat until I am full because whatever it is I am eating is healthy.

I should know better.

The thing that I remember about when I lost weight successfully in the past (using Weight Watchers) was that I pretty much never thought anything was off limits.  But what I did do was made sure I didn’t eat until I felt full.  I ate until I felt not hungry or satisfied, but not full.  Of whatever it was.  And I also didn’t freak out if I got hungry.  I drank some water, and made myself wait until it was time to eat again.  I didn’t just dive into a snack to get rid of the hunger.  I thought about it, assessed it, and if it was legitimate hunger, I ate something.  I thought about it.  I was careful.

That’s what I’ve tried to do in the last seven days.  I didn’t worry so much about the cake.  I just had a super small slice.  I didn’t worry about the pasta.  I just had a small portion and filled in with salad.  I didn’t worry about the wine; I just had less of it and drank water in between.

So this is what I’ll be working on for the next seven days.  Just taking each choice, each day, one at a time.

Current Week: -1.2 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose: 16.2 lbs
Age: 44
BMI: 28.5

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

