Wednesday Weigh In

Another bi weekly post, since I didn’t bother posting last week.  So I’ll recap both weeks.

I’m down this week, both over last week and over the two week mark, which I’ll take.  I had gained a pound last week, which is gone plus a bit more.  So yay for that.

I’ve been working hard to get my head back in the loss vs.  “I care but I really don’t care because I am making all the wrong choices” mindset.  It came to a head Monday morning for me when I saw a number on the scale that I haven’t seen in a long time.  Certainly not this calendar year.  I’d dipped back into a different “decade” on the scale, and it was the wake up call I needed to be more aware and cognizant.

My weight has been steadily increasing since June and I’ve done little to stop it other than watch the march upwards.  I’d even stopped tracking in My Fitness Pal, which I know always leads to trouble.  So Monday, I started again.  Tried making better choices.  Haven’t always succeeded but I’m doing better than I was.  Which is a start.

I’m honestly grateful the scale showed a loss this week because if it had showed a gain I am not sure I would be motivated to continue.  I would be frustrated and angry, as I have clearly been over the last few months, and handled it the wrong way, the worst way:  by throwing caution (even more) to the wind with my food choices.

So back to what I know works.  I don’t need a cleanse, or pricey meal plans, or prepackaged foods to lose weight.  I just need to follow what I know works for me:  less processed foods, fewer carbs, more lean meats and vegetables, more water, less alcohol.  That’s it.  That’s all.  If I just do that, I’ll lose, plain and simple.  It seems complicated, I make it complicated, but it’s really not.  It’s simple.  Make one good choice.  Then another.  Then another.  More good ones than bad ones.  The choices get easier each time you make a good one.  And then suddenly you’re on the right track again.

That’s where I need to be.

Current Week:-1.4 lbs over last week, .4 over two weeks ago
Total Weight Left To Lose: 16.6 lbs
Age: 44
BMI: 28.6

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

