Wednesday Weigh In/August Progress Report

The end of another month.  Another mixed bag in terms of my progress and goals.   It’s an odd feeling to be proud of myself and frustrated with myself all at the same time, but that’s where I am at the start of the ninth month of the year.

At least I didn’t gain this week.  That’s a plus.  It still puts me at my high point for the year, but the high point hasn’t elevated any higher.  😦  I didn’t lose either, but after a frustrating few weeks, I’m happy with simply not gaining.

In terms of progress towards my yearly goals, here’s where I am:

Running Goals:

1.  Run at least one race a month.

I actually ran two races last month, the MADD Dash and the Newtown Road Race. I was unhappy with my performance in the MADD, but really psyched about my results at the NRR.  Both inspired me to work specifically on 5K race times.

2.  Distance Goals.

My 2 10Ks and my half have been done for a while.  Which is why I have devoted the last part of this year to improving my speed.

3.  New Goal:  5K in under 35 minutes.

I have yet to run a 5K in less than 35 minutes.  The closest I came was last March on a cool day and a flat course.  I have another race coming up on 11/1 that should be similar.  I am now using a My ASICS training plan to help me reach this goal.  More on that in future posts.  Right now the plan is slowly building me up to running faster.  Today’s run will be three intervals with negative splits per mile.

Weight/Food Goals

1.  Finally reach my goal weight.

I am actually up half a pound over July, so obviously wrong direction.  😦  I only have three months to now shed 15 lbs so this goal is not looking likely.  I struggle with why of all of my goals I just can’t seem to commit to this one.  I keep thinking maybe I need to do some sort of a whole foods cleanse (I don’t believe in those shake kinds) where I really get back to whole, unprocessed food with less sugar and carbs.  I want to look into this over the next seven days.

2.  Cut back to one drink a night on weeknights.

Blew this one badly this month.  Basically managed it for a week.  😦  Sigh.  I know it works when I do this, so I need to recommit.

3.  No snacking after 8pm.

I haven’t done too badly here unless I’ve been out at parties or gatherings with friends.  But I need to make it a hard and fast rule in my head, and like most of my food choices lately, it’s felt more like a very flexible guideline.

4.  3 Salads As Meals Per Week

I’ve been doing very well with this one.  I can turn most leftovers into a salad.  I’ve definitely been doing this at least three days a week if not more.

So that’s where I am.  Still pushing forward with fitness, still struggling with food and weight.  Really need to find some inspiration and fun ways to get myself back on track with the food.  Because it all just seems great for a few days and then goes to pot.  I can’t really understand why I am so disciplined with my fitness goals but less so with my weight goals.  I seriously need to find a way to make the food choices as fun and rewarding as I find the fitness. 

Current Week: 0 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose: 15.8 lbs
Age: 43
BMI: 28.5

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

