MADD Dash 5K Race Recap

20140817-090953-32993654.jpg

I ran this race last year, and I remembered it being a fast, flat course so even though I haven’t run for two weeks, I thought it would be a fun thing to do this Saturday.  The day dawned cooler than normal for an August day, so that sealed the deal.   The race starts and ends at a beach, so I packed my flip flops and planned to hang out and enjoy the sand afterwards.

photo-32

I was excited to get a cool number as I signed in and chatted with my fellow race goers.  I knew a few of them, started up conversations with some strangers, and generally passed the forty minutes pre race very easily.  The race started on time, and we were off.

I felt really good starting out, passing some of my slower comrades and settling into what felt like a good pace.  I didn’t worry when my RunKeeper told me at the five minute mark that my pace was slower than usual; I knew that was part of the starting crush to get moving and just kept going.

It got warmer.  And warmer.  Even though I was feeling good, my pace just wasn’t where I had hoped it would be.  By mile 2 I was feeling that familiar “I am so hot and starting to run out of steam” feeling that i haven’t felt in quite a while.  My half training just didn’t survive two weeks with absolutely no maintenance whatsoever.  And frankly the runs in the last month have not been very long or very fast either.  Damn.

I decided to just enjoy the views and the race and not worry about time.  Even so, I was shocked to see the clock as I rounded the end read a whole minute slower than last year’s time.  I wasn’t happy about it, because if not for that, I really loved the run.  Felt good, beautiful views, people were nice, great course.  I know I don’t run for time, but I also don’t want to be going backwards.

Still, I was glad I got out there.  It kicked me in the butt and reminded me that to keep running, you have to run.  You can’t just magically wake up one morning and have it all fall into place (well maybe some people  can, but I am not one of those people…it is hard for me, all of the time…just varying degrees of hard).   You have to put in the time.

20140817-090954-32994017.jpg

But it was also a good lesson in that it isn’t always about time and pace.  I loved this run and I am going to hold onto that, regardless of my time.  Because at the end of the day, if I don’t enjoy it…I’m not going to do it.

 

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

