Wednesday Weigh In

6:13am on a summer Wednesday and I’m up and posting my weigh in this morning.  That can only mean one of two things:  I am eager to write about it (aka good news) or I am battling a minor case of poison ivy and can’t sleep any more.

Actually it’s both.

After four weeks of gains or static, I knew I had to change things up last week.  I’d definitely let the summer slide take over, and I was getting careless.  I was going to type lazy, but that’s not true.  I am not lazy.  I am still exercising five days a week, and that’s not lazy.  I’m not running ten mile long runs right now but I am still running, walking, and taking bootcamp.  So I’m not lazy.  But I was gaining weight.

I realized it was the decrease in activity since I’m not marathon training any more, coupled with some less than careful food and drink choices that had to be fueling the gains.  I know that I am not capable of ramping up the activity much more in the summer with the kids at home and the schedule completely out of whack.  So it had to be the food.

I set up three goals last week for food choices. Small, quantifiable goals that I said I’d check in on every week when I reported my weigh in.  Here we go:

1.  Cut back to one drink a night on weeknights.

I succeeded at this.  I called M-Th a week night.  I had one glass of wine Wednesday, none on Thursday.  On Friday, Saturday and Sunday I allowed myself two glasses.  I had none on Monday and one last night.

I am a bit ashamed to admit that represents a significant decrease in my consumption.  The only consolation for me is that I was having this discussion with some girlfriends two days ago and they all admitted they enjoy two glasses or two beers nearly every day as well.  Either they were lying and secretly calling me a booze hound behind my back, or us women in our forties like our drink.

Either way, I am glad to be cutting back.  It’s not good for me or my liver.  And I think moderation is the balance I am striving for here.

2.  No snacking after 8pm.

I mostly achieved this one.  I did slip a bit last weekend when we went to some outdoor shows we are involved in, which don’t get started until 8pm.   But when I was home, I adhered to this to the letter.  It has definitely helped.  Last night I was out until 9, and hadn’t really eaten much since 4pm.  I wasn’t terribly hungry, but if I didn’t have this edict in my head, I probably would have had some mindless snacks.  It’s really keeping me on my toes.

3.  Salads to replace 3 meals.

I had two green salads and one pasta salad that I made from scratch from a health blog this week for meals.  I know the pasta salad isn’t really what I was going for here, but it had lettuce in it and it was a lighter meal.  This one has been tough because of this week’s schedule but it’s a good goal that I am going to strive to hit perfectly or exceed this week.

I think sticking to three small, manageable goals coupled with my normal (mostly) healthy eating and exercise habits really worked for me.  The scale is 3.8 lbs lighter this morning than it was at this point last week.  🙂

Here’s to taking action and moving forward.

Current Week: -3.8 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose: 11.4 lbs
Age: 43
BMI: 27.6

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

