Wednesday Weigh In

I’m up two pounds this week and not the least bit surprised by it (pissed off about it yes, surprised about it, no).

In the few days before the half, I allowed myself to indulge a little.  I told myself I needed the fuel.  And honestly, I don’t think that was the problem based on my weight the morning after the race (which yes, if you’re keeping score that was a whole two days ago).

I told myself since the race I needed to recover.  I walked the first day, two something miles.  I felt good, really good.  Yesterday, with the summer vacation in full swing and unexpected meetings thrown onto my schedule, I didn’t exercise at all (I’d planned a walk).

I told myself it was OK to reward myself with dessert the night of the half (and every night since).  I told myself it was OK to have an extra drink because I’d burned 1300+ calories at the half (and have, every night since….the drink I mean, not the burning of extra calories).

And then there’s the unexpected visit from Aunt Flo eight days early (WTF perimenopause?).

Add it all up and I’m swinging back up the pendulum the wrong way.  And I can feel it:  the urge to bypass bootcamp this week, to maybe take a Whole Week Off from worrying about food and exercise, the thought that maybe where I am right now isn’t quite so bad and maybe I need to just stop trying so hard.

So, obviously, none of those things are going to happen.  I’m going to go and get dressed for bootcamp this morning, I already ate my normal sized healthy breakfast, and I’m going to have a good day today.  That’s the only thing I can do at this point.  I can beat myself up about the missteps over the last two, three, seven days, or I can suck it up and move (mostly) forward.

Obviously I choose to move forward.

Current Week: + 2 lbs (ugh ugh ugh)
Total Weight Left To Lose:  12.4 lbs
Age:  43
BMI:  27.8  (ugh ugh ugh)

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

One response to “Wednesday Weigh In”

  1. Mama Ames says :

    Here’s to moving forward:-) My cycles are whacked too. My doctor said it was age. I’m in my mid 30’s. Wth!

Leave a Reply

