May Progress Report

Well, here it is already at the end of another month.  Time to look at the progress towards this year’s goals:

May is already over.  Here’s the latest on march to meet goals I set for myself in 2014:

1.  Run at least one race a month.

I’m ahead on this one.  I didn’t run any in January, ran 1 February and 2 in March.  In April I completed 2 races.  This month I did a weekend of back to back races, a 5K and a 10K;  the DAWS Run Your Tail Off 5K and the Norwalk Mother’s Day 10K. I think I will only have my half marathon in June. But this means I’m still ahead by 3.

2.  Run at least 2 10Ks this year.

This is already done!  I ran them  just a few weeks apart.  I scored a new PR of 1:13:44 at the first one; the second one was hotter and didn’t have chip timing so my time was about a minute and a half slower.  Still, psyched that I’ve done this and I may add in a few more 10Ks now that the distance feels more manageable.

3.  Run a half marathon.

Still training and on target for the 6/22 marathon.  My long run this week was 12 miles which means I am nearly there!  I have three weeks left so I will have one 13 mile run and then an 8 and then shorter runs before the final week of true tapering.  I am still worried about heat, especially since we are having a cooler than normal spring, so all of my training is being done in lovely 50-60 degree temps, not the 70+ that I hear this race is known for.  Still, I’m doing what I can.  I am adding hill repeats and speed drills, something I’ve never done before.  Other than super sore legs and feet on long run days, I am really amazed and enjoying my progress during this training!

4.  Finally reach my goal weight.

Down just one pound this month, and only two pounds for the year so far.  We’re five months in!  I won’t get ten pounds off at this rate.  Seriously need to get better about the food and drink choices.

Overall, things are good, except for the weight.  It all comes back to choices.  Must. Make. Better. Ones!

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

