Wednesday Weigh In

Down a bit this week, which is good.  Of course you hope for more, but alternatively, any time there is a holiday of any sort, I’m grateful to still lose (Mother’s Day) anything in the course of that week.

Overall not much to say about this week.  I started another weight loss challenge at my bootcamp classes, so I am still feeling the fresh motivation of starting that. There are some new people involved this time, so hopefully the competition with them will keep me a little more honest than last time.

I did feel good about my back to back races over the weekend, and went back out yesterday for another training run.  From here on out my Tuesday runs (unless I have to mix them up due to weather or weekend plans) are supposed to be four mile runs.  I took the advice of my friend the marathon runner and decided to make my short runs a hill run.  There’s a trail near my house that includes a very steep hill.  I ran to it, down it, around a lake, and then back up it.  I couldn’t run the whole thing (especially not after three miles plus in) but I did it as an interval session.  I turned that big hill into three intervals of running and walking (it probably is about a third of a mile long).  In the end, I ran more than I thought I would be able to.  Next week I think I will do the hill twice and cut out some of the flatter parts of the run so I get more hill work.

I am trying to really be aware of food for fuel as I up my mileage and training.  I am finding myself more tired lately and I am sure it has to do with the increase in miles.  I know exercise is supposed to give you more energy, but does that end somewhere when you are pulling long runs?  I don’t know.  But I am going to have to do some more research about it because I really am noticing a difference.

Otherwise, just plan on plugging away this week.

Current Week: -0.4 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  10.2 lbs
Age:  43
BMI:  27.4

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

