The Road to the Half: Ten Miles

I cracked the double digits today. What I mean is, I ran (well, mostly) ten miles this morning. I’m not posting this to brag or anything even remotely like that. But for me, for a person who has never been athletic, who was the manager on the track team because she couldn’t run, who has been overweight for most of her adult life, this is a big thing. I never, ever in a million years thought I would ever type the sentence “I ran ten miles today” and it would be true. But I did. It wasn’t pretty. It took a long time. I had to walk some of it. But I did it. I ran ten miles today. I didn’t want to say anything about it, but it’s a really big deal for me. I didn’t change the world, I know it’s a first world thing, but it still means something to me, the chubby girl who got the “participant” ribbon at Field Day. I ran ten miles today.

**I posted this to my Facebook page today, hesitant to do so.  The outpouring of support was so overwhelming that I cried.  It would be weird not to mark this milestone on my fitness blog too.  Today was a big day for me.**

Screen shot 2014-05-14 at 5.49.46 PM

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

