March Progress Report

I promised myself that I would continue my progress reports on the last day of every month, and I missed the last day of March yesterday.  I realized this today when I was out on my run, which I suppose is a good thing.  Here we go:

1.  Complete the 30 Day Burpee Challenge in March.

This totally fell by the wayside right about the time when I hit 50 burpees in one day.  I think because I am now doing half marathon training and I couldn’t keep up with the burpees, the running and the bootcamp.

I’ve decided that the 30 day challenges can wait until after the half.

2.  Run at least one race a month.

I caught up on my races this month.  I ran the Shamrock and Roll 5K and the James Mattioli 5K this month.  I also did the Sandy Hook 5K virtually, but because my sister was with me and she couldn’t run, I’m not really counting it.  Still, this puts me at three races in three months, so I am good.

3.  Run at least 2 10Ks this year.

Still totally up in the air.  Now that I’m doing half training, I do feel that a 5K one day and 10K the next is doable, which leaves my Mother’s Day 10K in the mix.  But there is another 10K the week before that also looks good.  Unfortunately not a great many otherwise, so I will pick one of the two and then hold out for another one in summer/fall.

4.  Run a half marathon.

I am fully in my half marathon training program at this point.  I am using a freebie one, so I’m not doing a lot of tempo/speed runs; most of the program seems focused on building stamina.  I’ve done two six milers so far and honestly they have felt pretty good.  I’m supposed to run 3 miles twice, 4 miles once and 6 miles once in the next week (did the same last week).  Then I move up to 4, 5 and 7.  Essentially there are two shorter runs and a long run each week.  Can’t wait really to see how I move forward with it.

5.  Finally reach my goal weight.

I have been up and down this month and honestly the net is pretty much zero so not happy about that.  On the other hand, I am lower than I have been in six years, so that’s a plus.  Still within ten pounds of goal with 9 months to go in the year, so I’m still going to call this a positive.

Non Scale Progress:  I had to find a dress for my granddaughter’s baptism last week.  I had something in mind but when I went to the store, a dress very opposite of what I’d planned on jumped out at me.  Very fitted, Calvin Klein, size 8.  I wasn’t sure when I took it into the dressing room, but I was pleasantly surprised when I tried it on and it fit like a glove.  I haven’t felt that confident in a dress in such a long time.  Not even for my son’s wedding a year ago (when, incidentally, I weighed about eight more pounds than I do now).  So even though the scale didn’t show a lot of progress this month my clothes are fitting better and I am seeing mprovement fitness wise.  So that’s definitely Mostly Forward.  🙂

Leave a Reply

