January Progress Report

I took on several goals for the year back at the start of this month, and I wanted to track some of my progress towards them since today is the last day of the month.

1.  Complete the 30 Day Plank Challenge in January.

I did this.  I was able to do the full plank without stopping for every day except for two or three near the end, where I broke it up and still completed the full time (over, actually) but with one or two breaks.  But then this irritated me so much that I forced myself to stick it out without stopping.  I ended up finishing this yesterday with a full, five minute plank without a break.  I still am not sure how I did it, as each one over 3:45 seemed like a miracle, but I did it, and I’m pretty proud of it.

With the planking challenge over, I’m looking for something else to do in its place.  I’m looking at a 30 Day Squat Challenge.  I like the idea of doing something small but building every day.  This would take me to the end of February.

2.  Keep up my 2014 Run Streak for at least 30 consecutive days.

I have done this as well.  I’ve run every single day, one mile at least, since January 2.  That translates to 53.5 miles I’ve run this month.  A lot of these runs had to be completed on my treadmill because of either a:  crazy snow or b:  crazy cold.  I have definitely done some of them outside though and have learned a lot about layering and winter running this year.  I’ve decided to try and keep this going at least till the end of February, so 60 days straight of running.  I’ve never gone that long running consecutively, so we’ll see how it goes.

3.  Run at least one race a month.

I did not get a race in this month.  I had my eyes on a race last weekend but it was seriously cold and windy and my husband was away so there was no one to watch the kids.  I have one in my sights for February, a run I did last year and really enjoyed.  I still think I can meet this goal by doubling up (I already have two races in mind for March, for example) as the weather grows warmer.

4.  Run at least 2 10Ks this year.

Still looking to do one of these sooner rather than later, but haven’t really started training for one.  This weekend the weather is supposed to moderate so I’d like to get a good six mile run in and start working towards more distance.

5.  Run a half marathon.

Again, still haven’t figured this one out yet.  In talking with my running mentor, he suggested the one I was initially looking at might not be a great fit:  it’s super hilly.  It’s also in April and I don’t think I will be ready by then.  I’m thinking I’ll do one at the end of June, even though it will mean running in the heat.  I know the area and ran the companion 5K last year so I think it is doable.

6.  Finally reach my goal weight.

This is the one goal that I’m actually upside down on at this point.  I’m up 1.4 lbs since January 1.  I’m going to be entering another weight loss challenge at bootcamp next month so I’m looking forward to really getting serious about it.

I think I’ll try to do this type of post every month.  It’ll keep me honest.  🙂

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

