Wednesday Weigh In: Wrong Direction

Ugh!  I’m up 1.2 lbs this week and I’m not entirely sure why.

I mean, I haven’t been perfect.  I know that.  But have I been so bad as to merit that kind of gain?  I don’t think so, I truly don’t.  I’m higher than I’ve been since October, which pisses me off.   We did have my son’s birthday this weekend, but I ate seriously the smallest slivers of cake.   We had celebration dinners but I stuck with mostly protein and veggies.  I’ve had better runs, longer planks, harder bootcamp classes.  What gives?

Who knows.  But I do know that some of my habits need a bit of reality check:

1.  Bread.  My husband likes bread with dinner and it was one of the first things to go when I lost weight before.  But lately, I’ve been letting myself have a slice (sometimes two) with dinner.  It’s not a huge thing, but probably 75-150 calories each day I do it.  Four times in a week that could be hundreds of calories.

2.  Alcohol.  I’ve said it too many times to count, but I really should rein in my wine consumption.  If I look at my food logs, on the days that I’m over it usually is partially, if not fully, due to glasses of wine.  And not only the calories, but I worry about what else it is doing to my body.  I’m not saying I’m ready to teetotal or anything, but I really need to look at the habit seriously and make some changes.

I think just working on those two things this week and keeping the rest of my good habits in order is where I am at.  I’m still planking every day and still running every day (hoping today isn’t my waterloo….there’s a lot of snow outside and my treadmill is on its last legs….we got a new one but it doesn’t get delivered for a week).  I’m still making more good food choices than bad.  So I’ll chalk this week’s gain up to Whatever and move on from it.

Sigh.

Current Week: + 1.2 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  14.4 lbs
Age:  43
BMI:  28.2

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

