Wednesday Weigh In: Status Quo

The scale reads exactly the same as it did at this time last week.  And frankly?  I’m OK with that.

Not going to lie, this was a challenging week.  We’ve had rain, we’ve had snow, we have had 50 degree temps and we’ve had temps below zero.  My treadmill, twenty years old and literally falling apart, is on its last legs from all of the use it has been getting this week.  I’ve kept up my #2014RunStreak only because I have the damn thing and and am carefully navigating my runs on the slowly shredding belt.

My husband has been working late which always means less cooking for me.  It’s terrible, but it is true.  It’s easier to whip up a quick quesadilla or all beef hot dogs because a:  they love them and b:  it’s fast.  I don’t normally eat those things with them, so I”ll rummage through the leftovers available.  Sometimes that’s good, but sometimes it means I eat less consciously because I’m eating whatever “is around” rather than purposefully putting a protein and a vegetable on a plate.

The weather also puts my head in a weird place where I want to eat more.  Like feeling full will help me feel better about the cold, the dark and the drizzle.

I’m not trying to make excuses here, I know what I am doing.  I’m just being honest about it.  I recognized this week when I was reaching for chocolate at 8:30pm and finally, consciously, put a stop to it.  I noted the opening of the wine bottle and pouring more than I should out of it while watching TV, and finally, slowed that train down.  I felt the urge to stop my running and my planking and pushed back on it.

So this week, knowing where my thoughts have been, how hard I have had to push back against them?  I’ll take a status quo.  It is far better than what could have been.

Current Week: no change
Total Weight Left To Lose:  13.2 lbs
Age:  43
BMI:  28

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

