Thoughts On Motivation

Had one of those mornings this morning….I woke up tired after a night filled with restless sleep.  I was sore from yesterday’s back to back kickboxing/pilates classes.  My cold that I had over Christmas is still making me cough from time to time.  And to add to all of that, I donated blood yesterday, which usually also leaves me a bit tired.

I didn’t want to run today.

I got up at 6:30, let my dog out, and made a cup of coffee, pondering whether or not I’d get up off the couch.   We go to Mass every Sunday so there was a limited window of time for me to find my totally, completely lost motivation.

I knew I didn’t want to blow my run streak.  But I am so tired, I told myself.  Maybe I could run after church?  No, I know myself.  Once I’m showered and clean, I don’t like to go running (I sweat so much it would mean a second shower….seems wasteful).  I had originally thought of doing five miles today, and the thought of it made me feel even MORE tired.

I finally made a bargain with myself.  I would run just the one mile, I told myself.  Then I’d walk for however long I wanted to.  I could handle that, even on the day after donating blood.  No problem.

That got me out the door.

But once I was out, I was enjoying my run.  The weather was perfect:  40 degrees, sunny, slight breeze.  The crazy weather we’d had yesterday meant most of the snow had melted, leaving me plenty of room on the side of the road to navigate both me and my dog against oncoming traffic.  I was definitely still tired and not going as fast as usual….but it felt great to be outside after running most of my recent runs on a treadmill in my basement.

I made it two miles and then allowed myself to walk.  But a funny thing happened as I walked.  I didn’t want to walk!  So I allowed myself to run/walk for another thirty minutes.  I ended up going another 1.85 miles, and probably could have gone at least another mile if I wasn’t worried about time and getting cleaned up for church.

After I got home, I stretched and then completed today’s plank for that challenge, a full 90 seconds.  I am pretty sure I’ve never planked that long before without taking a break.  I was proud!

Today was a great reminder of a lesson I’ve learned before but tried to forget today:  you’ll never, ever regret going out for a run.  Once you’re out there, chances are you’ll be glad to you did.  Maybe you have to bargain with yourself a little to get yourself started, but then you can keep that bargaining up once you’re out to go further and faster.

Moral of the story?  Just get out there and run.  Even if you’re tired.  Even if you’re slow.  Even if it’s hot/cold/windy/rainy.  Even one short run is better than nothing.

**Today is Day 12 of my 30 Day Planking Challenge and Day 11 of my 2014 Run StreakBoth are still in effect!

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

One response to “Thoughts On Motivation”

  1. sarahdudek80 says :

    Excellent moral! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

