2014 Fitness Goals

I thought it might be time to actually commit and put my fitness goals out into the universe.  I keep reading about other people’s 2014 goals and it is inspiring to me!  Nothing motivates me more than watching others work hard and meet their goals so it’s time for me to put up or shut up, so to speak.

1.  Complete the 30 Day Plank Challenge in January.

Six days in and this is on track.  🙂

2.  Keep up my 2014 Run Streak for at least 30 consecutive days.

I missed January 1, but ran two miles to make up for it on Jan 2.  Since then I have logged at least a mile a day (mostly on the treadmill because the weather here has been insane between snow, extreme cold and today, 50 degrees and heavy rain….what a strange winter!).  Yesterday I was ready to skip it because I’d driven four white knuckled hours in freezing rain coming back from visiting my grandmother and I was completely whipped.  But I did it, and I’m glad I did.

3.  Run at least one race a month.

This gets tricky in bad weather months like January and February.  So far I have on my radar a five mile race for the end of this month (am waiting to sign up until the weather forecast comes in as I hated missing the last race I signed up for due to bad weather!) and a four mile race next month (did this one last year and it is a bear!).   This is a goal that I have had since I started running two plus years ago and I have easily achieved it both years so far.

4.  Run at least 2 10Ks this year.

I loved the Joe Kleinerman 10K last year but with my grandmother’s 95th birthday falling on the same weekend this year, I skipped it.  I still plan on the Mother’s Day 10K I did last year and another one….not sure which one.

5.  Run a half marathon.

This is this year’s biggest fitness goal.  It is the next logical goal for me.  It wraps in the “run ten miles in one stretch” goal as well.  I had originally had my eye on the NYC half in March, but March is just going to be a bad month for me with a lot of family things going on so I think I have to push it out some.  I am not sure I’d be ready for the Stratton Faxon Half on April 6 with how crazy I know March will be.  If I don’t do the Danbury one, I might opt for the Fairfield one in June.  Not wild about doing my first half when it could be really hot but I’ve heard good things about the race and the course, so it might end up being that.  We’ll see.

6.  Finally reach my goal weight.

I’ve been chasing the same number on the scale since I started this blog a year and a half ago.  I’ve made progress towards it, for sure, but I’m still about 13 pounds away.  I’d like to not have this be an issue this time next year.

This is my outline of what I’d like 2014 to be.  Now that I have goals, it’s time to start mapping out a plan to get there.

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

5 responses to “2014 Fitness Goals”

  1. sarahdudek80 says :

    Running and planking go well together. Great goals!

  2. Heather H (@SushiJammies) says :

    Love the planks! I do plankaday too, although I miss days here and there. Also, a huge thanks for the super sweet comment you left on my blog. Sorry I’m terrible about commenting here. I read every time, but I read on my phone and commenting on that tiny screen is a pain… anyhoo, I miss you! Any chance you’ll make it to FitBloggin this year?

    • mostlyforward says :

      I don’t know if I can make it. The timing at end of June is so hard with my kids…by then they are out of school and my husband just can’t take the time off to be home with them. September was easier because they were in school and he could work much more easily around their schedule. I’d LOVE to go to Savannah (although it will be HOT that time of year there!)…it’s definitely on my radar. It killed me to miss last year’s. 😦

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. 2014 Exercise Goals | We Lose Weight - September 10, 2014

Leave a Reply

