Wednesday Weigh In

Last weigh in before Christmas break, and I’m feeling good about it:  down 1.6 from last week.  Still not quite back down to my low point in early November (just 1.2 lbs away from it) but I’m ok with it.  I’m happy with coasting here until January and then getting back on the wagon and down into the land of Single Digits To Goal.

I honestly am pleased and a little surprised at the number, because our cookie swap was last week.  I’ve had at least a cookie a day since then, some days more (high point:  Saturday, with five, ugh).  I’ve tried to balance it with better food choices.  I’ve drunk less wine this week, which is definitely a factor.  I also got significantly more exercise in.  It has been super snowy here, so I have had shoveling, in addition to using my treadmill to keep up with runs.

I’m not great with treadmill running, but if it’s the difference between that and nothing due to snow and ice outside, I’ll do it.  It’s boring, I usually want to give up about ten minutes in, but if I stick with it, I can usually crank out 3 miles without incident.  I’m not sure why, but I am consistently slower on my treadmill too.  It’s older (nearly 20 years old, I think….I bought it used from someone in 1997…it’s a good one but it’s old), and may possibly be stuck on an incline position.  Still, it gives me what I need when I need it (typing that sentence makes me smile).

I am going to weigh in once more before our holiday break on Saturday to get a true “before” number.  I will, between now and then, try and work on my game plan.  It’s not rocket science of course.  But I really need to wrap my head around the holiday.  Last Christmas I gained six pounds over our break, and didn’t get back down to the low point I’d reached just before it until this fall.  NINE MONTHS of trying to erase that damage.  I will not be letting that happen again.  I need to be super clear in focus, and writing out the plan out here in the blog will help me keep that good headspace I have right now through all of the celebrating next week.  🙂

Current Week: -1.6 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  11.8 lbs
Age:  43
BMI:  27.7

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

