Wednesday Weigh In: Mostly Backwards

Yikes.  I knew the scale would be up today but it’s a kick in the pants for sure to see it read a number THREE WHOLE POUNDS higher than last week.

I needed that kick.  I was sliding out of the good habits I’ve spent the last few weeks forming.  More drinking, less careful snacking, larger portions, less water.  Was it three pounds of bad behavior?  Probably not, but I hurt my back last Friday, and I haven’t exercised since.  The calories I would have burnt running and exercising in the last five days could have equaled half of that number, easily.

So crap.  Lost a fair amount of ground that I’d staked in this weight loss journey.  And not great timing for my weight loss challenge at bootcamp class, which ends next week.  If the scale is this much higher at home, it’ll be higher there too.  Blech.  I need to remember this crappy feeling when I go to reach for the salty popcorn (which isn’t bad in small portions but the three bowls I’d had on Monday…probably not the best choices) or the second scoop of guacamole.

Also, the back thing.  I don’t know what the heck I did.  It feels like sciatica and it came out of no where.  I have been taking it easy since class on Friday and while it is now bearable, it’s still not gone.  I’m going to exercise for the first time today since Friday and just try and modify as much as I can.  I need a win going into the holidays in a few weeks, need that mojo back to make the good choices and feel strong and healthy.  Because I know all too well from this week, from any holiday I’ve ever gone through, that if I don’t have my wits about me, five pounds will come out of nowhere….and they’ll sit right on my backside.

Current Week: +3 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  13.6 lbs
Age:  43
BMI:  28 (ugh….didn’t want to be back in the 28s)

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

