Wednesday Weigh In: Thanksgiving Challenge

A great feeling stepping on the scale this morning.   Finally busted past the 7/31 weigh in number, dropping another 0.8 lbs this week.  After four weeks of small gains, losing two weeks in a row finally obliterates those gains and stagnation and takes off another pound on top of them.  Next goals?  To blow past my low point of the last year, which occurred on 12/21 LAST YEAR.  I’m 0.6 lbs away from it, so I am hoping that next week will see me posting another happy tune about how I’m finally moving towards my goals again.

Part of the reason why my head is in a better place is the Thanksgiving Challenge.  My bootcamp instructor issued it.  She asked all of us in class if we’d like to be a part of a weight loss challenge going into the holidays, to get us in the right place of mind before heading in.  It’s exactly the boost I needed.  You weigh in each Monday before class, she sends you nutrition tips and meal plans/recipes, and you essentially compete with your fellow classmates.  The person who loses the greatest percentage of weight wins free classes.  It’s exactly what I needed to get my head in the game and move me forward.  Because obviously if I’m trying to push past a weight I recorded last year, my head hasn’t exactly been in the right place.

I felt more like I was being conscious this week with the food choices.  I think I have finally gotten it in my head:  while the exercise is a key component, I’ll never lose weight if I don’t pay closer attention to what goes in my mouth.  I certainly am in much better shape than I have been , possibly in the best physical shape of my life, but I’m still heavier than I want to be.  It all comes down to food.  I needed guidance and tools.  I’m glad I feel like I have something to wrap my brain around now.

Current Week:  -0.8 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  14 lbs
Age:  42
BMI:  28.1

 

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

