Wednesday Weigh In: Holding Pattern

Up slightly this week over last week’s gain, which obviously does not happy me happy.

It’s been one of those up and down weeks.  I was feeling that awful nausea post meals last week, so I went in my medicine cabinet and found some Zantac knock off I’d taken years ago when I had a similar issue (which, I’d forgotten about until this started happening).  My panic eased when I realized I’d had a very similar issue years ago, and had it checked out:  bupkus.  I was told to take the Zantac to prevent symptoms for a week and sure enough, they had eased back then.

I took it a few times this week and things did get better.  I did still experience the nausea sometimes but you can also take Zantac after symptoms start, which was what I did this week.  It seemed to break the cycle.  I went from having that awful feeling after every meal to just after four or five all week (which was an improvement).  I hadn’t taken any in a few days until yesterday.

Yesterday I had the worst bout yet.  I had had yogurt and fruit for breakfast, gone for a hike in the woods with my dog, and then had an hour long meeting at our school district offices.  I came home to sit down and work for a while and then met a friend for lunch.  I had chicken and pesto pasta (I know, you’re thinking that was a bad choice not for my stomach but certainly for my waist) and two glasses of wine.

When I came home I wasn’t feeling great, and all of a sudden I thought about cookies.  Cookies would soak up that acid, right?  And before I even knew what I was doing, I’d eaten five cookies.

Needless to say, they didn’t make things better, they made things worse.  A lot worse.

By 7 I was so nauseous that I finally hit the Zantac.  I wasn’t hungry (that’s what overeating + nausea will do to you), and the idea of eating anything seemed like a bad one.  So I didn’t eat dinner.  The Zantac helped; it eased it some, but not completely.  I went to bed at ten tired and unhappy.   I woke feeling the same this morning.   The extra weight on the scale didn’t help.

Obviously I need to monitor this and if it keeps up, I’ll definitely have to go to the doctor.  I just hate going through a bunch of stuff to have them tell me nothing is wrong, so I’m going to see how much I can treat myself through research and food choices.

Current Week:  +0.2 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  16 lbs
Age:  42
BMI:  28.5

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

