Wednesday Weigh In: Back On Track

You know when you’ve had a good week, and you just know the scale will know it too?  Yeah, that was this week for me.  They haven’t been happening too often for me, so I’m savoring the Feeling In Control Thing going on in my head right now.

My goal last week was not only to not gain, but to erase last week’s .6 gain and then some.  That way, in my world of crazy, it would be almost like last week’s gain didn’t happen and I could get back into my No Gains streak again.

When I stepped on the scale this morning it showed a 1.4 lb loss over last week, and a .8 loss from the week before, meaning that I met my goal of being lower than two weeks ago by nearly a pound.  Whew.

I have been truly much more aware of what I have been eating (and how much of it) and I can definitely see why the scale hasn’t been moving for the last few months.  Even though I have been exercising a lot, you just can’t create the kind of deficit to erase all of the calories I was consuming.  This week I made an effort to cut back on the alcohol and limit my simple carbohydrates (aka “white” stuff).  I’m really assessing my level of “fullness” after a meal and stopping before I really feel too full.  Finally, the biggest thing I am aware of doing this week is allowing myself to feel my hunger.  It’s OK to be a little hungry sometimes, as long as I don’t let it get out of control.  But a little bit means my body is using fat for fuel, and that’s a good thing.

Exercise wise I am running on my off days from bootcamp, three or four miles.

This next week will be a challenge because I am going on vacation.  Last time I went on vacation, every time I go, I drink more, eat more and move less.  My goal is to exercise every day but the travel days.  Even if it’s half an hour on the treadmill in the fitness center, or laps in the pool, but I plan on doing something active every day.  And of course, my goal is a no gain vacation.

Current Week:  -1.4/-0.8 (current week/previous week) lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  14.4 lbs
Age:  42
BMI:  28.2

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

