Wednesday Weigh In

The last time I saw this number on the scale was March.  Yes, I looked it up.  I knew it had been a while.

March was a stressful time, with the lead up to my son’s wedding, and I started feeling the stress.  I stopped being very careful about my food or drink, and the pattern continued until, oh, Memorial Day.  Granted, we’re talking only four pounds here, but still.  I went up and down and up and down with those same four pounds week after week and it was driving me crazy.

I did the Runner’s World 39 Day Running Streak and started bootcamp classes around Memorial Day.  I started feeling better about my journey again.  Even though the weight still wasn’t where I wanted it to be (in other words, it wasn’t going down), I felt stronger and more capable every week.

Three weeks ago I started my “no gains” philosophy to weight loss.  The first week, I didn’t gain.  The second week, I didn’t gain again.  Here were are in the third week and I am so happy that I’ve done it again.  I haven’t gained.  I’ve made good choices, I’ve kept up with exercise even during the hottest week of the year, and I just have a much better feeling about where I am and what I am doing to meet my goals.

I lost 1.4 pounds this week.  It isn’t huge.  It isn’t grand.  It isn’t even the lowest weight I’ve clocked in during the last six months.  But it represents another week of no gains and inching closer to where I’d like to be.  I feel good about it.  And now the line in the sand is drawn.  I can’t be above this new, lower threshold next week.

It should be a good week.

Current Week:  -1.4
Total Weight Left To Lose:  15.2 lbs
Age:  42
BMI:  28.4

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

