Happy Blogoversary to Me!

Happy Blogoversary to Me!  I started this fitness blog one year ago today.

At that point I’d been running for about ten months and was flagging a bit in my fitness efforts.  I had just signed up to live blog at FitBloggin’, and it felt silly to be attending a fitness blogging conference without a blog.  I read lots of fitness and food blogs, but didn’t write one of my own.  So I went over to WordPress.com and decided to start this one.

I had trouble figuring out a name.  I wanted something to do with running but everything I wanted was taken (in my usual over confident style I was looking for names like Chunky Runner or Fat Girl Running or something like that).  I nearly gave up until I came up with Mostly Forward.  It felt right.  I felt like my overall fitness trajectory was forward, but I had a lot of backwards int he journey.  Hence, Mostly Forward.

I had big hopes for the blog.  I had hoped to find a loyal readership.  I thought people would really connect with me and my struggles.  I don’t feel like that has happened.  After FitBloggin’ 2012 I really felt like I had found a great community and strove to be a part of it.  The conversations, the challenges, the interacting.  I saw all of these people who really got a lot from each other in terms of support through their struggles.  Not complaining, but it hasn’t been that way for me.  My blog helps me put my thoughts together and give concreteness to my journey.  But my blog seems pretty solitary.  I don’t get much feedback from others here.  Which is probably because I am not great at the Twitter thing or marketing myself.  I’d like more interaction with other bloggers, but it hasn’t happened.

That being said, I am glad I’m blogging and recording the steps I’m taking to move forward.  My blog is for me, after all, not anyone else.  I don’t write in a certain way, using certain key words, or talk about products because I’m being asked to do so (not that I would mind that per se….).  It’s just for me, a place to sort out my thoughts and keep me on the right path.  And that’s OK.

I have moved forward.  A year ago I was struggling to keep up with the running, I’d gained a few pounds and didn’t have a great feeling about who I was or where I was going.  This year my running is on track, I’ve started boot camp, I’ve shed a few pounds and am working towards a goal of losing more.  I feel like I really am moving forward, and it feels good.

So Happy One Year Blogoversary to me.   Cheers!

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

