Runner’s World Run Streak Recap

RWRUNSTREAKBADGEJust typing “Runner’s World” into a title on my blog seems very strange to me.  While I’ve been running for 22 months now, I still don’t feel like a runner.  But I have to say, after participating in this challenge, I definitely feel more like one.

The idea of running every day was still foreign to me when I started this.  I had started running with the Couch 2 5K program and then moved onto Bridge 2 10K.  Both promote the rest days as a way to regroup and heal, and they are invaluable to a beginning runner.

But while I might not feel like a runner, I’m not a novice anymore.  I might be slow, but my body has been doing this now for nearly two years.  I realized that running a mile a day, every day, should be something I could do. And I was right.  I kept up with the challenge and ran at least a mile, every single day, except for one:  June 2, the day I put together our town’s 5K (although I am very sure I walked at least a mile that day).

Best things?  Now running feels like a habit.  There were a few days where I didn’t really want to get out of bed.  It’s hot now, and the only time that makes sense to run is early in the mornings.  There were times when I probably wouldn’t have gotten out of bed except that I didn’t want to break the streak.  But now it feels normal to get out of bed and put on my running clothes and get a quick run in, even if it’s only a mile.  I used to treat running like an event, not a real part of my every day life.  Now it feels more like the routine.

Worst things?  Laundry.  Even after only a mile, my clothes are soaked.  My laundry has been so full of tech ts and sports bras it’s not even funny.  That, and my feet are a little uglier these days than they were before the streak.  But if those are my biggest complaints I think I am doing well.

Here are my stats:

Week 1 mileage:  14.6 miles
Week 2 mileage:  12.3 miles
Week 3 mileage;  14.7 miles
Week 4 mileage:  18.5 miles
Week 5 Mileage:  14.6 miles
Week 6 Mileage (Sun-Thu):  12.97 miles
Total Streak Miles:  87.67 miles in 39 days
Average:  2.25 miles per day

I feel pretty good about it, especially considering I’ve also been attending bootcamp classes two or three times a week for this period too.  On days where I was scheduled for bootcamp, I would get up at 5:30 or 6 and get in a quick mile and then still attend class later in the morning.

Here’s what this year looks like now in my RunKeeper Reports:

My RunKeeper Year To Date

January looks pretty low because I wasn’t entering in treadmill runs into the system; I definitely logged more than that.  But if you look, Feb/Mar/April all are pretty even.  May ticks up with the better weather but June really blows it out of the park.  Which is kind of amazing because I haven’t done any long runs; I was doing those on March and April.  It just goes to show you that even a slowpoke like me, if I keep at it, can log some serious miles.  Yay, me.

So I might still be in the back of the pack, but at least I feel more like a runner after this challenge.  I’m definitely glad I participated in it, and proud to have completed it.

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

4 responses to “Runner’s World Run Streak Recap”

  1. hacking says :

    nice post i loved it..

  2. clé d activation windows 7 gratuit says :

    The One Touch Glucos Meter comes along with their own diagnostic tests strips and also lancet.

    However, they require you to put up your home as collateral,
    so you risk losing your home if you make late payments or fail to make them at all.

    There are actually windows made from several materials, which include fiberglass, light weight aluminum,
    or vinyls are a variety of them.

  3. Activer Windows 7 Gratuitement says :

    Regardless, the complex nature of Windows dynamically increases the possiblity that some
    users will have some type problems installing or running the operating system.
    Thhis should fix the problem of your Windows XP plug and play USB device not working.
    These ports, also known as connections, enable the notebook to
    connect to a variety of devices such as cameras, speakers, external
    hard disks, scanners, printers, etc.

  4. wordpress.com says :

    Moreover, they will also be able to sync emails on the multitude of platforms.

    This software can prove very effective especially to XP users, ass the support aand
    security patch updates aare no more available for XP.

    Windows XP was released iin the fall of 2001 while Windows 7 was released inn October of
    2009.

Leave a Reply

