RWRunStreak Check In Day 15

So I thought I would check in on how this is going.  I was posting on social media for the first few days, but it just seemed silly since most of my connections there are not fitness types, they’re my friends.  And I know how annoying (or braggy) it seems when I see people constantly posting about their exercise.  Plus, as we all know, I’m not exactly the fastest runner out there, so it seems a bit much to talk about it.

But, this is my fitness blog after all, so I wanted to put some thoughts down about it.

First, I am loving the accountability of it.  It is forcing me to get out there even on days when it seems like the schedule is tight or I’m not feeling all that great (today, for example).  But a mile is hardly a blip, so I can always get in a mile.

20130610-073010.jpg

This guy is loving the RWRunStreak so far.

I did technically “miss” one day, the day of my big race.   I had to be at the race site by 6am, and while I thought about squeezing it in prior, it was already hot and I knew I’d be doing so much that day.  To be fair, I’m sure I walked a mile that day, but I didn’t officially get a run in.  I felt a little bad about it, until I realized I’d run four miles the day before.  I also added a bit to my run the day after to “make up” for it.  But other than that, I’ve been very consistent with the runs.

 

20130610-073021.jpg

A cool thing happened this day.

I used to always subscribe to a “never run two days in a row” idea, not sure why.  Maybe it came from my Couch 2 5K training.  But I never did.  Now I’m running every single day, and I do see some small improvements on speed in these shorter runs.  During one of my runs last week, one of those where I wasn’t feeling terribly good, a woman in her car pulled over.  I generally run in the same neighborhood all of the time and have been since I started running nearly two years ago.  The woman rolled down her window, said how much she has loved watching me learn to run, and that it was very inspiring to see my transformation.  She wanted to know how much weight I’d lost.  And I realized, since I started running, probably about 15 pounds.  Because I’m kind of stuck right now, I’d lost a little sight of that and how far I have come.  She was so nice and it was a really sweet thing to do, to take time out of her day to give me a compliment.

20130610-073102.jpg

Treadmill on rainy days.

I’m not a fan of the treadmill run, and I always seem to run slower on mine than I do outside.  You’d think it would be the opposite.  But it’s nice to have the option when the weather is crappy or the kids are sick (both of which happened in the last week).

20130610-073116.jpg

The four mile loop I just invented.

I am combining the mile a days with boot camp and a 5K training plan that I am hoping will boost my speed.  Generally, I stick to just a mile and change on days I am going to boot camp, and then do the longer runs on the off days from that.  It generally has not left me with much in the way of “rest” days since I started this challenge, so we’ll see how it goes.  I am running a 5K in two weeks so I’m curious to see if the speed is starting to pay off.  I think it is on my short runs, but yesterday’s four mile loop threw me.  I almost wonder if I’m losing a bit of the ability to pace myself on the longer runs by going a little more “all out” on these short ones.  We’ll see.

20130610-073130.jpg

For now, I’m loving the challenge.  And it’s nice to see my RunKeeper blowing up with all of the activity.   We’ll see how well I maintain it when I travel later this month, but I am determined to make it work!  🙂

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

