Wednesday Weigh In: Back on Track

Last week’s weigh in took a day for me to post.  This one, I came right to my computer to get to writing it.  You know what that means?

It’s a loss this week, thank heavens.  But actually not thank heavens.  It’s not divine intervention.  It’s smarter choices, that’s just all there is to it.  Weight loss doesn’t just magically happen, or not happen.  It’s the direct result of the choices we all make.  It’s possible, it’s doable, and when it isn’t happening for me, there is only one reason why:  my choices.  As my boot camp instructor said last week (this really stuck with me), “No amount of exercise can make up for a poor diet.”

I have been so focused on my exercise lately that I have lost sight of the food choices.  In fact, I was making that classic mistake of eating more because I felt like I had “room”.

This week, I really worked on those choices.  Not counting calories as much or tracking but the choices.  I made myself greek yogurt with fruit and granola rather than reach for pretzels.  I limited my nuts to one snack per day (I’d been eating way too many of them).  I tried to keep most of my carbs whole grain.  And while I did drink (because it’s what I do), I didn’t drink as much and stuck to lower calorie options.

I am working on my exercise via the boot camp and the running challenge I just gave myself (more on that in an upcoming post) but it’s really the food choices that has stalled my weight loss.  This is where I have really worked this week and it showed on the scale.

Special thanks to my friend who gave me the kick in the pants I needed after reading my last weigh in post….it also is part of why I was able to get my head back in the game….thank you!  It is very true that the level of support you have around you helps.  Having that ability to talk about this stuff with someone who is going through it too has also been helpful.

So, a good week.  I feel like I am in a much better place.

Current Week:  -2.2
Total Weight Left To Lose:  16.8 lbs
Age:  42
BMI:  28.7

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

