My Running Mojo (Or Lack Thereof)

So, two weeks ago in a fit of after race endorphins, I signed up for the Mother’s Day 10K in Norwalk.  I felt fast, fit and good and enjoyed my little 5K race with my pooch and felt invincible.

That was so two weeks ago.

I don’t know what has happened to me in the last week, but I’ve had a series of slow, crappy runs that have left me wondering where my running mojo went and how to get it back.

I’m trying to figure out why the runs feel different, harder and I think it’s coming down to the transition from winter to spring in large part.  Really hoping that’s what it is.  Here’s a list, in no particular order, of things that don’t feel right lately in my runs:

1.  Warmth.  I have been running for about six months in sub 40 degree temperatures in the morning.  Now it’s suddenly 60 or more degrees in the mornings, and I’m not used to it yet.  We’ve had a slow start to spring here and I would say truly the last week or maybe two is the first time it’s been this temperature in the morning.  I need to acclimate.

2.  Allergies.  On a run with a girlfriend this week, I kept coughing.  I sneeze.  I have gunk going on.  This is interfering with my breathing in my runs and forcing me to slow down.  Which is never fun once you feel like you’re finally, finally gaining some speed after 18 months of trying to be a runner.

3.  Sour stomach.  Can’t figure out why this is, but suddenly I’m having sour stomach when I run.  It’s definitely related to whatever I ate that morning, so I need to be more careful about what I’m eating on my run days.

4.  Blood donation.  Really hoping this has something to do with my lack of energy this week.  I donated blood on Saturday.  I waited until Monday to run again, but I’ve felt definitely weaker.  That has to be part of it, right?

5.  GPS #$@#$.  I don’t know what it is about springtime, but my GPS in RunKeeper did all sorts of wacky things last spring, and it’s doing it again.  Routes that I know like the back of my hand, and that it has tracked beautifully for months are now coming in all wrong in the tracking.  I’ll be five minutes in and it will tell me I’ve gone a mile because the GPS is all screwed up.  This bugs me because I really like to know my pacing; it helps me understand if I’m feeling tired quickly or if I need to step it up a notch.  It’s like running blind, in a way, and it’s driving me crazy.

I’m going to try and manage all of these as best I can for the 10K tomorrow.  It’s supposed to be a flat course and starts at 8am, so I am hopeful that it won’t be too warm.  The forecast is for rain today so hopefully that will damp down some of the allergens in the air.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

