Not Much To Say

Not much to say about yesterday.  Other than finding out that my go to “fill me up with enormous amounts of food for next to no calories” food item was a myth, which was a bummer.

I had to go formal dress shopping yesterday.  My son is getting married (hence the ‘goal date’ in my weigh in numbers) in a month and it’s time to face the music.  I had hoped to be another ten pounds lighter by now, but it is clear that isn’t happening, so it’s time to suck it up and buy a dress.

Even though I’ve lost some of the weight, even though I felt great when I stepped on the scale yesterday morning, the reality of my body type and short stature made me glum and unhappy with the results.  I tried on many, many dresses.  Many didn’t fit.  The one that was exactly the style I wanted would have fit if I’d made my goal….but it didn’t….and so I didn’t.  I found a few good options, but not after my head started to swim.  In some styles I was a 12.  In others I was an 8.  The dress I bought was actually an 8, after all of that (so was the one I coveted and couldn’t even get over my hips).

After it was done, I was hungry and went to the food court to get something to eat.  I opted for Subway, thinking healthy choice.  I ordered my go to sandwich:  a footlong veggie on wheat with cheese.  For twenty years I’ve eaten these, thinking they are super low in calories and still filling.

When I got home and logged my veggie sub, it was over 600 calories.  Holy crap.  I was shocked.

The rest of the day was good, otherwise.  I did a cardio DVD to rest my ankle until I get some new shoes.  It was hard, which was good.   Even though I was slightly over on calories by the end of the day, I felt it was a good day of solid, healthy choices.  The scale this morning agrees.

One response to “Not Much To Say”

  1. Adelyn says :

    Sizes are CRAZY!! And I have some things from a number of years ago that now fit. They are big on me…but size 14. I am regularly buying 8’s and 10’s now. That is how much it has changed!!

    Good luck with the wedding. I don’t know you…so take this for what it is worth…but at the wedding know that your size will be so inconsequential. Just present yourself as beautiful and confident. Because really, there is nothing more beautiful than confidence.

Leave a Reply

