Monday: Two Thumbs Up

This writing a quick post recapping the day before is actually really kind of helping my accountability.  I am getting a lot of going through each day and the choices that made it, so for now, I think this is going to be a regular thing.

Yesterday was a good day both food wise and exercise wise.  Nearly everything I ate yesterday was unprocessed, meaning I made most of it myself.  I have always found I lose better when I make food myself as opposed to buying it premade.  Two of yesterday’s favorites included:

20130226-060725.jpg

Homemade roasted butternut squash soup.  This is insanely easy to make.  I roast a large (3+ lbs) squash, peeled and cubed, in a 400 degree oven with olive oil, salt and pepper for about 40 minutes.  Then I puree it in a blender with chicken stock, in parts.  Then I pour the puree and the rest of the chicken stock (I use a box of it, so that size) into a pot to heat up.  I add some more kosher salt, pepper and some curry powder.  It is divine.  To keep it interesting I threw in some spinach, which wilted from the heat.  Yum.

20130226-060733.jpg

Homemade guacamole.  This is Tyler Florence’s recipe.  Essentially you take two avocados, mash them, and combine them with about 1/3 c red onion, one small tomato (diced), 1 clove minced garlic, juice from half a lime, about 2 tbsp of chopped cilantro, and some spices:  1/8 tsp of chili powder, 1/8 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp kosher salt and enough pepper to taste.  It is absolutely divine.  🙂  I had it for a snack with baby carrots, grape tomatoes and two Wasa light rye crispbreads.

Because I ran 5+ miles yesterday (with warmup and cool down walks a total of 5.69 miles, but who is counting) was 477 calories UNDER goal yesterday.  I am hoping this makes up for this weekend’s overages, but we’ll see.

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

