Wednesday Weigh In: Lather, Rinse, Repeat

After two weeks of (slight) losses, I’m right on schedule with a sizeable gain this week.  It’s a pattern.   I recognize that.  I get complacent after a few weeks of “being good” and then I decide I can “just have one more”.  Or a “little bit” of that.  It’s clear that it is a pattern.  I need something to shake things up, to give me more accountability.   Because clearly the looming deadline that I set for myself hasn’t mattered a whit.

Screen shot 2013-02-20 at 7.20.15 AM

That’s my My Fitness Pal 180 day progress report.  According to it, I’m down 5 pounds from my highest weight.  But it also tells me that I weigh today exactly what I weighed on November 23.  Jeez.

I’m going to try something different here and do a more thorough look at the past week to see where the damage occurred:

Wednesday:  MFP says I was 240 calories under goal that day.  I ran 6 miles that day.
Thursday:  I was over calories by 229.  This was a long day with no exercise, most of it spent on a bus to Hartford.  I also drank two glasses of wine and an after dinner drink with the Valentine’s dinner my husband made.
Friday:  Over again, by 234 calories.  Fish and chips for a Friday lent meal, plus two glasses of wine with it.  I ran five miles this day.
Saturday:  Over by 650 calories.  Most of it booze as we had my husband’s cousin over that night, and we always drink together.  I did do some strength training this day, one of my DVDs.  Enough to be sore, not enough to counteract all of the food and drink.
Sunday:  Over by 505 calories, thanks to girls’ night out for a girlfriend’s birthday.  No exercise this day due to extremely cold temperatures outside.  Really could have and clearly should have done something but didn’t.
Monday:  Under by 45 calories.  Which should be great but since I ran 4 miles and earned over 400 calories, it means I ate everything I earned….which means I didn’t undo any weekend damage.
Tuesday:  Under by 163 calories, a herculean feat accomplished because I knew I would post a gain this week.  I did my strength training DVD but you hardly burn anything doing that.  Still, not enough to undo the damage.

Food:   3/7 days under goal.  Less than 50 %.  Two days over by 500+.
Exercise:  5/7 days of exercise.  My goal is 45 minutes five days a week.  I did 82, 0, 63, 35, 0, 54 and 35.  Average:  53.8, so that’s on target.  2 days of strength, 3 days of running.

Well, a close examination of the week tells me right where the problems are.  It’s a little eye opening actually.  I knew I’d blown it a few times but this shows me much more clearly how one or two bad days really are hard to make up for.

Back at it…..again.

Current Week:  +1.6 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  17.8  lbs
Weeks Left to Goal Date:  6 (shouldn’t even bother posting this one anymore)
Age:  42
BMI:  28.9

Leave a Reply

