Wednesday Weigh In

Down .2 this week.

It’s not much.  It’s less than I thought it would be watching the scale this weekend, but I’m just honestly too tired to feel badly about it.

We had around 30 inches of snow fall on us last Friday-Saturday.  I don’t know about you, but I’d never seen that much snow all at once.  Most of it fell overnight from 8pm to 8am.  I had tried valiantly to keep up with clearing our driveway during the daylight, but only about five or so inches fell during the day.  The rest dumped overnight, in a wind filled fury that howled and made me think of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s descriptions of The Long Winter.

That much snow puts everything on the back burner.  We were fortunate to keep our power.   We were doubly fortunate to have two snowblowers.  But the amount of sheer physical labor, even having those, it took to clear the wall of snow surrounding our home was primal.  I was so sore, so hungry from the activity.   We did more snow clearing Sunday and finally had the walls of snow pushed to the side and over enough that we could leave our home.

Which made us lucky.  There are still, today, five days after the storm, trapped in their homes.  Snowplows haven’t gotten to their streets and they can’t clear the snow themselves.  It’s not like a shovel will do it.

I did keep up with the exercise this week, even with all the snow.  On the days when I wasn’t moving snow, I ran on my basement treadmill, and yesterday was able to walk outside for the first time since the snow hit.

I’m not sure why the scale wasn’t more friendly to me with all of the activity this week, but I’m not going to let it get me down.  I’m tired from all the snow.  Today is also the 20th anniversary of my mother’s passing, which is a hard day, always.  So I don’t have the energy to waste time feeling badly about a tiny drop on the scale this week.  It went down.  I kept up with the exercise during bad weather.  I could have made some better food choices, but all in all, it wasn’t a horrible week.   And right now, that’s OK.  That’s enough.

Current Week:  -0.2 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  16.2 lbs
Weeks Left to Goal Date:  7
Age:  42
BMI:  28.5

Leave a Reply

