Wednesday Weigh In

Back again for a Wednesday Weigh In.  I’m actually really glad that I do this.  I surely would have stopped bothering being careful and really tracking everything if I wasn’t committed to putting something up every Wednesday about what direction the scale is going in.

I’m down 0.8lbs this week, which is a second week in the right direction.   Still feeling frustrated and static, but grateful that I was able to pull a loss during a week of one girls’ night out (made myself the designated driver so as to not over indulge) and one Superbowl party (did great with the food choices but once again blew the booze intake).

Yesterday, worried what the scale would say today, I really made an effort to drink lots of water and be extremely mindful of my choices.  No more huge handfuls of salted nuts and second helpings of crunchy pita chips.  I instead went for the leftover guacamole I made last weekend (which, by the way, was delicious.  I used Tyler Florence’s recipe and will make this again and again for snacking) with lots of grape tomatoes and baby carrots.  I put spaghetti sauce over a boatload of spaghetti squash….you can eat a ton of that and it has so few calories.   At the end of a really good day of food choices, I felt in control.  I felt good.  That’s the kind of momentum I’ve been lacking, and I need to capitalize on it and use it to get back on track.  I might not hit my goal perfectly, but even if could lose a pound a week in the next eight weeks, I could live with that (still, of course, working towards the larger goal overall).

With my exercise doing well, there’s no where else to go but really explore my food choices.  It all comes down to wanting to put in the extra time and effort to have healthier things available to me.  When I cook myself or put together healthy food, I always love the result.  It’s just a matter of making sure I have the good ingredients available and making the time to put in the effort to make healthier meals.

This week’s stats:

Current Week:  -0.8 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  16.4 lbs
Weeks Left to Goal Date:  8
Age:  42
BMI:  28.6

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

