Wednesday Weigh In: Sadness Edition

I haven’t written anything here all week except my winner post, because I had to.  I had intended to write another run recap, on Friday.  I’d gone out to conquer 6.25 miles of solid running, and did it.  With the warmup and cool down walks I logged 6.83 miles that day, and was feeling pretty proud.  I showered and sat down at my computer to get some work done, maybe write something.

My homescreen is NBC News.  At the top, in red, was the Breaking News box.  Obviously you all know what it said.

For me, I was scared on a different level.  Newtown is the town next door to us, and for a period of time, it appeared that there was a larger threat.  There was talk of more than one gunman, and all of the schools in this area went on lockdown.  I have two kids in school, one in the middle and one in the elementary.

It was a harrowing day that ended well for my family and tragically for so many others.  Too many others.  I don’t know any of the victims’ families personally, but many people I know do.  Everyone seems to.  It’s so close, it’s personal.  My daughter called home for me to pick her up from school after the threat seemed to have passed, and she didn’t leave my side all night.  She’s twelve.  She was petrified.  Fortunately my son didn’t have an awareness of what had really gone on, and was less affected.

My husband was out of town when it happened.  He didn’t arrive home until ten that night, where he found my daughter and I curled up on the sofa, snuggling together watching “While You Were Sleeping” because the news was too scary.

Needless to say, writing about losing weight hasn’t been a thought I’ve had.  But I didn’t let my sadness pull me too far off track either.  So you can imagine my disbelief when I stepped on the scale a few minutes ago and saw a 4 pound loss.

I knew I was going to post a more sizable loss this week.  I could see the numbers dropping and I was really kind of amazed by it.  I’ve been working so hard and the weeks have shown such small losses.  I didn’t work harder this week, in fact, I probably did less.  I’m almost wondering if I’d been at a plateau and now I’ve pushed through it.  It has felt like that for weeks, hovering around the same number, slowly picking away at it.  And I knew my gain last week didn’t make much sense either; I had a feeling it would come off, and it did.

Either way, obviously, the loss feels positive, despite the circumstances.  Going into Christmas break with a win will give me the momentum to keep up the good choices.

I hope all of you have a wonderful Christmas, or whatever holiday you and yours celebrate.  May it be filled with peace and blessings, for all of us.

Current Week:  -4 lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  13.4 lbs
Weeks Left to Goal Date:  15
Age:  42
BMI:  28.0

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

