Wednesday Weigh In: Being Realistic

So, as you might expect, I posted a gain this week.

0.6 lbs.  I’m actually relieved.  I thought it would be worse.

And while this means two weeks in a row of gains (.08 lbs total over two weeks ago), I’m not as frustrated as I was last week.

Firstly, it was a hard week with food choices.  Between a girls’ luncheon on Thursday, our anniversary on Friday, a Christmas party on Saturday, a cookie swap on Monday and a working dinner last night, the week was filled with temptation.  While I can’t say “I did the best I could” (that would have meant a salad and no wine last night and not eating any of the cookies Monday night, or the party food on Saturday), I did reasonably well while enjoying the festive events laid before me.  I made healthier versions of the cookies, brought hummus and vegetables to the girls’ party, ordered fish last night.  I feel like I am mostly on the right track (moving mostly forward?) with my headset these days.  This was a tough week.  But I’m not up three pounds, I’m up less than a pound.  It could have been a lot worse, and it isn’t.

Also, I feel fantastic about my exercise.  The running is going really, really well.  Yesterday, when I only had 20 minutes to exercise, I hit the treadmill.  I set the speed higher than normal since I knew I was running only twenty minutes.  I told myself that I could dial it down any time after the halfway point.  But in my head I said, “Till the end of this song”, or “Just two more minutes” and then all of a sudden, the twenty minutes were up.

I could have gone longer. How amazing is that.  A year ago, running twenty minutes, at any speed, was an impossibility.  Even three months ago it was a hard, hard task.  But I’m doing it.  I’m running thirty, forty, sixty minutes without stopping and it feels good.

And, as the icing on that cake, I finally found a 10K to do after all of this training I’ve been doing and I am super excited about it.  It’s a 10K through Central Park in NYC!  I’m nervous, of course:  the race is run by the New York Road Runners, serious runners.  I’ll be slow.  I’ll be in the back of the herd.  But I know I will finish and I am ready.   I have over three weeks and I’ll do several runs of that duration between now and then, plus shorter runs.  I am so excited to finally get another chance at a 10K and one in NYC?  How freaking exciting is that?

I’ve come a long way, and I think that’s why the scale isn’t bothering me so much this week.  Do I want it to be lower?  Sure.  Am I going to let it derail me?  Not this week.  The number is the number.  I’m not going to let it erase all of the good that is going on with me right now.  It’s Christmas, and I am going to enjoy the season and make healthier choices.  This is a journey, and I’m on the right road.  And for now, in this moment, that’s enough.

Current Week:  +.0.lbs
Total Weight Left To Lose:  17.4 lbs
Weeks Left to Goal Date:  16
Age:  42
BMI:  28.8

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

