Unilever Holiday Baking Giveaway!

Every year my book club does a holiday cookie exchange.  The first year I participated, I wasn’t quite sure what to make; I’d never done anything like that before.  And then I remembered helping my girlfriend Erin one afternoon do her holiday baking.  She made something called “Buckeyes”.  Having grown up in Michigan myself, that word practically has four letters (there is an intense rivalry between the University of Michigan Wolverines and the Ohio State Buckeyes, in case you had no clue what I was talking about).  But Erin had no such biases, and she taught me how to make these simple, sinful, decadent desserts.

When I started losing weight, I tried making something different for my book club cookie swap.  Each time I strayed from the Buckeyes, I heard about it.  So this year, I thought I would make the traditional ones, and then see if I could find a way to make them a little healthier.

Cue in the perfectly timed email I received from Unilever asking if I’d like to host a Holiday Baking Giveaway.  Would I?  Absolutely!

Unilever Baking Giveaway
They sent me this wonderful package of goodies, which includes:

·         Silpat® baking sheet liner
·         Steel Cooling Rack
·         Nonstick cookie sheet
·         Stainless steel cookie scoop
·         $10 gift card to Target or Walmart

And you can get a kit like this too!  Just leave a comment on this post letting me know what your favorite holiday baking recipe is.  It doesn’t necessarily have to be a healthier version, although those would be most welcome; I’d love some new ideas.  Links to the recipes would be helpful for all of us looking to fill those gift boxes with yummy treats this time of year.

Just be sure to leave your comment by 12/17/12.  I will then use the random picker to choose a winner!

Unilever is also hosting a Confection Perfection sweepstakes, where they give away  even more goodies and share recipes.  If you’re interested in signing up, click here.

Below are the recipes for my tried and true, but terrible for you Buckeyes, as well as the Skinnytaste healthier option.

Buckeyes (adapted from All Recipes)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup Country Crock
1 tsp vanilla extract
6 cup powdered sugar
4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1.  Combine peanut butter, room temperature Country Crock, vanilla and powdered sugar in a large bowl.
2.  Using a small scoop, drop mixture in small balls onto cookie sheet lined with waxed paper.  If you don’t have a scoop, just take a tablespoon sized amount and roll it into a ball in your hands.
3.  Freeze for at least 30 minutes until dough balls are firm.  If you just refrigerate them, they’ll fall apart in the next step.
4.  Melt chocolate chips in a double boiler.  Roll peanut butter balls in melted chocolate and put back on the waxed paper lined cookie sheets.  Refrigerate again until firm.

Skinny No Bake Peanut Butter Bites (from Skinnytaste)

Ingredients:

2/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
2 tbsp Country Crock
1/2 cup fat free milk
2 1/2 cups old fashioned oats
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter1 tsp vanilla
powdered sugar, cocoa powder (optional)

Directions:

1.  Combine the first 4 ingredients (sugar through milk) and boil in a small sauce pan for 2 minutes.
2.  Remove from heat and mix in oatmeal, Better n’ Peanut Butter and vanilla.
3.  Drop by tablespoons onto a wax paper or roll into balls with slightly moist hands and refrigerate overnight.
4.  The next day you can roll them in powdered sugar or cocoa powder if desired (I did this a few hours later and it was probably too early….they crumbled a bit). Keep refrigerated if storing for several days.

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

11 responses to “Unilever Holiday Baking Giveaway!”

  1. Adelyn says :

    So mine would be the Buckeyes that you mentioned…but I have always just known them as Peanut Butter Balls.

    So now to be original…I have a goal to be proficient at frosted sugar cookies. I keep trying recipes hoping for the one that will really work. So far this one is the best: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/the-best-rolled-sugar-cookies/

  2. elxankat says :

    Here are my kids’ favorites…..we even named our Elf on the Shelf “Spritz”.

    http://www.wilton.com/recipe/Classic-Spritz-Cookies

  3. Maureen says :

    I make eggnog cheesecake bars but I also make eggnog bread. While eggnog is a bit fattening I do use the low fat eggnog.

  4. Mandy CLoutier says :

    Sue Hockly& I made Buckeyes very year with her Mom-they were AWESOME!!!

  5. Alaine says :

    I love sugar cookies 🙂
    family74014 at gmail dot com

  6. Carolsue says :

    Sugar Cookies and Snickerdoodles are my all-time favorite cookie! I’d love to this, especially the Silpat Baking sheet. Those things are awesome!

  7. Malerie C. says :

    My friend always makes buckeyes for her holiday gifts. They are soooo tasty!

  8. Leah says :

    I love to make many different kinds of cookies during this time of year. I mostly love linzer tarts. For many reasons, but mostly they take some time to make. Therefore each bite I savor.. AND there is some fruit in them too!!!

    Happy Holidays!

    lhttp://allrecipes.com/recipe/linzer-tarts/

  9. Noreen says :

    I love making sweet potato pie or strawberry scones, the strawberries are not to unhealthy 🙂

Leave a Reply

