Further and Faster

My weight might not be moving along as fast as I’d like, but the running is coming along and feeling great.

Today was my next “long” run.  I have to really psych myself up for these.  6 miles sounds so long and in my head, when I think about it, I can’t even imagine I’m attempting to try something that far.  I can talk myself out of trying to do it pretty quickly.

I was going to actually go out for this run on Monday, but my knee was bothering me a bit, so I decided to do some strength training instead.  I’m glad I did.  The knee stopped hurting after a good round of toning and stretching, but just to play it safe, I ran a shorter 4 mile run on Tuesday.  Yesterday was a rest day due to my schedule.

Which meant this morning it was put up or shut up time.  A friend has floated the idea of a possibility for a 10K to me, in January.  If I keep up these long runs as I have, I should feel pretty good about the distance by then.  The race would be through Central Park in NYC, which sounds like the stuff I’ve never even thought to dream of.  I don’t know yet if I can work out the scheduling, but if I can?  I need to be ready.

So I put on all of my cold weather gear (it was 28 degrees here this morning) and told myself I was just going to do it.  No whining, no bitching.  Just do it.

And I did.  I did 6 miles.  And I did it faster than I did any of my other runs before.  All of my miles were less than 13 minute miles.  Most of them were closer to 12 minute miles, which is significantly better than my last long run.  Average was 12.22min/mile which is a whole minute faster than my last long run!

Today is a milestone for me.  With the warmup and cooldown walks, I have officially gone faster today than I ever have.  Here’s how today looked:

5 minute warmup walk = .29 miles
74:13 minute run=6 miles (one stop to tie my shoes, otherwise, didn’t stop the whole time!)
6:48 minute cooldown walk/run=.44 miles

Total Miles:  6.73 miles.

How about that????  I still can’t even believe it.  And I honestly feel good.  Fine.  I stretched after, and now I feel completely normal.  I am amazed.

Next up:  running 6.25 miles straight, without stopping.  It’ll be a few days before I make that happen.

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

2 responses to “Further and Faster”

  1. Adelyn says :

    Congratulations on your milestone. So wonderful!

  2. Runventure says :

    Congratulations, you’re doing great! Just remind yourself of the days when 3 miles sounded like a lot. If you can run 3 miles, you can run 4. If you can run 4, then you can do 5, and on and on…

Leave a Reply

