5.5

20121109-094401.jpg

You can’t really see it on this map, but I did several of those loops twice. Each of the purple pins is a mile. See that? There are FIVE of them!

Today was Week 6 Day 1 in Bridge to 10K.  60 minutes of running without stopping!  I haven’t done that….since…wait, I’ll look it up in the app.  Because I certainly didn’t do it in the one 10K I ran.  I haven’t done it since….May 6, 2012.  Yikes.

And I didn’t do it today either.

I made it pretty far into the run before I hit a hill and pooped out.  I think it was around minute 44.  I saw 15:35 (I think) on the screen when I glanced down at it.  I had pushed all the way through the hill and was at the top.  My heart was racing.  I was tired.  I had to catch my breath.

I walked for only about 30 seconds.  Then I kept going.  And I ended up running through about 3 and a half minutes of the cooldown, so I made up the time…but I still didn’t get that unbroken 60 minutes.  I’ll try again on Day 2, but it probably isn’t going to be until Tuesday.  I’m running a 5K on Monday for Veteran’s Day, and I don’t want to have a big blowout training run before it, so it will be a few days.

But that’s OK.

Today’s run plus warmup and cooldown walks put me right at about 5.5 miles.  I’m inching ever closer to the 6.2 mark for the 10K.

At this pace I figure it will take me at least 70-75 minutes of solid running plus a warmup and cooldown to get to that 10K mark.  Still, I’m faster than I was when I did B210K the first time.  I’m in better shape and it doesn’t feel as hard.  So….it’s a journey.  I’m telling myself that’s OK.

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

2 responses to “5.5”

  1. Heather H (@SushiJammies) says :

    You should be super proud. I’m not sure unbroken running is even a big deal. I know a lot of major “runners” who do the occasional walk interval. You’re still a superhero to me.

    • mostlyforward says :

      Thank you Heather. I know a lot of people do intervals, but I’m never going to get real distance until I have that kind of stamina, you know? I’m not knocking it though….I’m pretty amazed to be able to say “I ran 5.5 miles.” Two months ago I’d be lucky to do 2.5 miles without stopping, so I definitely know I am making progress.

      🙂 You’re awesome! Thank you for taking the time to give me some positive feedback.

Leave a Reply

