Back In My Runner’s Groove

Run

4.75 Mile Bridge to 10K Run

We’re expecting a hurricane to hit my area sometime in the next 24 hours or so.  While hurricanes have always been considered highly unusual for CT, because we’re so far north and the storms tend to diminish in power by the time they make it up here, the last year or so has seen more of them stay together enough to cause us some serious damage.

But this post isn’t about that.

It’s about the fact that since I knew the storm was coming, one of the things on my list today was getting in the last run I could before it hits.

That’s a major shift in my thought processes.  Before, I would have used all of the myriad of prep that we need to do as an excuse not to bother.  I would have figured that it was a sign that I wasn’t going to be able to keep up with all of this running stuff, and oh well.

But here’s the thing:  I’m liking the runs.

I still get the nudge of worry when I see how long they are on the Bridge to 10K app.  I completed Week 5 Day 2 this morning, which consists of two twenty five minute runs, with one minute of walking in between.  It’s a long time.

But because the app builds you up, it’s actually less time running than the Week 4 runs.  Week 4 is three eighteen minute runs.  While they are shorter, it adds up to 54 minutes of running, shy of today’s fifty.  It’s about the endurance at this point, being able to run those long stretches without stopping.

Today, not only did I complete the run feeling like I could have done more, I ran up a significant hill without stopping to walk.  The same hill that slowed me down terribly in our local 5K six months ago.  I hated that hill, and every time I trained on it I ended up walking it.  It was just too much.

Not today.  I ran, albeit slowly, the whole thing.  And that hill was about ten minutes into the second interval of running, so I was pretty tired at that point.  But I willed myself to do it.  And I did.  It felt awesome, that sense of accomplishment.

There is something to this thing people call “hill work”.  Because after I was able to modulate my breathing and heart rate on the flat area after the hill, I felt a surge of energy.  Even fifteen minutes in to that second interval, after that big hill, I could feel my energy surge.  I could run faster on the flat road ahead of me.  I knew I’d make it through the whole fifty minutes without any problems.

Not only did I finish those 50 minutes strong, but I jogged for three minutes of the cool down just because I knew I could.

Which is an amazing feeling.  Truly freaking amazing.  I have found my runner’s groove.  I don’t ever want to lose it again.

About mostlyforward

Somewhere on the journey to a better life, depending on the day...moving (mostly) forward.

Leave a Reply

